I Got a Good Deal, but Could Have Done Better

October 19, 2008 at 2:56 am (Being Frugal, Uncategorized)

This week at Macey’s, you can get $10 off when you buy any 10 participating General Mills Products for $25 when you use an in-ad coupon. Since FiberOne bars were one of the participating items, I decided to stock up. We’re big hikers so we like these for hiking trips as well as for snacks. I used one $.50 off coupon from the 9/07 insert for one box and got 10 boxes for $14.50, which breaks down to $1.45 a box. Pretty good considering that I normally pay at least $2.50 a box. While we were waiting for them to bring more granola bars to us from the stock room, I took a look at the Chex Mix Bars and the Curves Bars, also included in this promotion. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they were both fairly low in sugar and high in fiber content. AND when I got home I discovered there were coupons for these as well: two for Chex Mix Bars $.50/1 (9/07 and 10/05 inserts) and one for Curves Bars $.75/1 (10/12 insert). So it could have been 10 boxes for $12.75.

Leave a Reply

