Boo! Look What DD #1 is Going to be for Halloween

October 11, 2008 at 10:28 pm (Being Frugal, family)

czgirl1

DD #1 wants to dress in a traditional Czech folk costume for Halloween this year. I’ve been looking for peasant blouses and white skirts to no avail. Today I stopped at the local thrift store and hit pay dirt! I found a blouse, skirt, slip and red tank top for $14! In the next few weeks, I will shorten the skirt, make the tank top into a vest, use my sewing machine to embroider some embellishments onto the the skirt and the vest, put ruffles of netting on the slip to make it into a petticoat petticoat, and buy some ribbons to go in her hair and around her waist.

czgirl2

I can’t tell you how happy I am to have this problem solved…the real thing would have been hundreds of dollars!

2 Comments

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    You lucky duck–it looks like you hit paydirt!! 🙂

  2. indianananaknits said,

    It’s going to be soo cute! You did good! I can understand why she is bugging you to get it done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

