The Leftovers Dilemma

September 21, 2008 at 1:34 pm (Being Frugal)

Not only do I hate throwing a way leftover oatmeal. I hate throwing a way leftovers period. I also don’t like having the same thing to eat over and over again. I like a lot of variety, so much that Blooshusband once sat me down and very nicely asked if we could eat the same thing for dinner more than once. He likes a little more predictability in his menu than I do.
Of course, what’s a girl to do with leftovers when she wants variety? Make them into something else of course! For example, with leftover chili I make chili stacks. I basically take rice, tortilla chips, cheese, lettuce, salsa, sour cream and leftover chili and stack them on my plate in whatever order suits my fancy. Since I make my meatloaf with lean ground turkey, it’s a little too crumbly as leftovers for sandwiches. Instead, I crumble the meat, mix it with some cream of mushroom soup and make a Shepherd’s Pie. What creative ways do you use your leftovers?

1 Comment

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    I used to have leftovers a lot, but the DVs’ appetites have grown so much that I rarely do now.

    If I do,though, the DH takes them for lunch as they are, so I don’t have to be too creative with them.

Leave a Reply

