Produce Power

September 17, 2008 at 11:58 am (Being Frugal)

This week, I decreased how much I was spending on produce by half.  I was spending at least $50 or more on produce a week. This week I spent $25 and it wasn’t because I was buying less. All I did was look at the sales flyers for the week and then I bought what was on a good sale. (Not everything that a store claims to be on sale is a good price!) Here’s what I got for $25:

  • One bunch of green onions
  • 4.5 lbs. of pears
  • 6 green bell peppers
  • 3 lbs. seedless grapes
  • 1 cantaloupe
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 bags Dole Classic salad
  • 5.7 lbs. of peaches
  • 5 Roma tomatoes

Items italicized were on sale.  And not only did I get enough produce for a week for my family, but I was able to stock up a little, too!  I have plans to freeze, can, or dry the extras.

Breakfast update:  Yesterday we had the blueberry muffins I made.  Turns out that if you heat a frozen muffin for about 45 seconds in the microwave, it comes out warm just like it’s fresh out of the oven! 🙂

Leave a Reply

