One Week-No Cold Cereal

September 16, 2008 at 2:28 pm (Being Frugal)

Since I was able to make use of a great deal the Money Saving Mom wrote about over the weekend, I’ve been inspired to see how little I can spend on breakfast this week. Although the sale at Target is off, you can still get the $2 off coupons from Kashi by using the link in Money Saving Mom’s post. Yesterday we had a box of Kashi waffles for breakfast. The girls informed me that the waffles were okay, but they liked my homemade waffles and pancakes much better. It’s a good thing I froze the few left over from this weekend!
Anyway, my little family of four packs away four boxes of Quaker Oatmeal Squares in a week. At $2.88 a box, that’s almost $12 a week. And when I usually have on hand the ingredients to make pancakes, waffles and muffins that just doesn’t make sense. So yesterday, I made a batch of blueberry walnut muffins from a basic muffin recipe and froze most of them after everyone sampled them to make sure they were okay. They were VERY okay, so I hurried up and froze them before they were inhaled by Blooshusband and DD#1!

2 Comments

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    Sounds good! 😉

  2. Joe said,

    $12/week for four people…that’s $0.43 per meal (per person). But then I guess there’s the milk, too…

Leave a Reply

