30 Days of Nothing

September 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm (Being Frugal)

Recent circumstances in our family have given us cause to look at the family budget, re-evaluate and see where we could be spending a little less. In our quest to find ways to spend less and save more I have joined Owlhaven’s 30 Days of Nothing Challenge. Everyone who joins provides a link to their blog or website to facilitate the sharing of ideas, so I thought I should share some of what I’ve been doing.

  • I have started saving the coupon inserts from the Sunday paper.
  • I am using free services like Grocery Smarts.  They compile lists of sales items for the week and tell you which coupons are applicable to get the lowest price. They require a passport for your area.  I found mine by doing a Google search for grocery smarts passport for Utah and found it-g84ro1.
  • I went shopping in my freezer before I went to the store and planned my menu around what I already had.
  • I am going through my receipts and making a list of items I purchase routinely and what they cost each time I go to the store over a four week time period.  You can go to Coupon Mom and sign up to read her free e-book of grocery shopping tips for a more detailed explanation of why and how to do this.

While I was digging through my freezer, I discovered some zucchini I had shredded and frozen to make zucchini bread using my favorite recipe.  MMMM…..I don’t think the bread I made will last very long.  The first loaf is already gone! 😉

1 Comment

  1. Owlhaven said,

    Glad you’re playing along!!
    Mary

Leave a Reply

