Autumn Wings Shawl Finished

May 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm (knitting)

I’m calling this Autumn Wings because the shape and the trim make me think of wings and the colors, well, you get the point.

 autumnwings3

autumnwings2

autumnwings1

 

Pattern: Lonnie’s Ruffled Malabrigo Shawl of Many Colors

Needles:  Size 13

Yarn:  Malabrigo Worsted in Cinnabar, Applewood and one color I can’t remember, and of course, lost the tag for it!

Modifications:  Instead of picking up stitches around the edge for a ruffle, I picked up stitches for a picot hem.  I tried doing a picot bind off, but it wanted to curl and was very pointy.    Anyone who wants to knit this pattern should know that it’s a very odd six-sided shape and that you should follow the instructions exactly for the increases.  I thought when it said to only increase one stitch on the right side rows that it was a typo and it was supposed to say increase ever other stitch across the row.  That misunderstanding resulted in my knitting to the other end of the shawl where the decreases began, noticing my mistake, frogging and re-knitting.  I would also have used a smaller needle size, as between the size and the unevenness of the yarn, it caused a lot of uneven stitches.

Any how, it’s done, I love the colors, and I’m happy with it!

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Indiananana said,

    I think it is perfect!!! And I love the picot hem. Very classy. Now the Girlies will have another shawl to snatch in Church. 🙂
    Beautiful job, Sweetheart!

  2. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    Very nice! 😉

  3. Michelle Henninger said,

    Really lovely looking shawl!! I can’t believe you can make these things. What a very amazing talent you have! I’m envious!!

  4. JoAnn said,

    It’s just lovely. I can’t wait to see it in person.

Leave a Reply

