How to Make the DH Eat Tofu

May 13, 2008 at 12:55 pm (family, food)

I have made several attempts to find recipes in which to hide tofu.  Since the DH doesn’t like it, I have to disguise it.  I’ve tried it in dips, I’ve tried soups, but I think last night’s meal might have been the best.  I made Tofu Burritos.  Before you say “EWWWW!”, you mix soft tofu with a mixture of refried beans, salsa and sour cream.  I even put it in my food processor.  Blending tofu with something else has become a favorite of mine when it comes to sneaking it past the DH’s lips. 

The disappointment was… he figured it out!  Usually, that’s because he can taste it.  Not this time! He said he mostly tasted the green onions.  After pressing him for details he said it was because it seemed just like the sort of thing I would do…

I give this recipe a thumbs up with a couple of changes.  First, a whole pint of sour cream is too much.  I found it kind of stole the flavor.  It should be decreased by at least half.  I would also put in a whole can of refried beans instead of half and add some chili powder or cumin to it.  I loved  baking these in foil on my grill.  It only takes about 5 minutes and they come out all crisp and warm.

And now I’m off to find new ways to disguise tofu lest I get caught red-handed again.  (Of course all of the smirking and giggling done by the DD’s had nothing to do with tipping him off! )

2 Comments

  1. Indiananana said,

    Pretty sneaky!!!!

  2. Joe said,

    Seems like all that sour cream would negate some of the benefits of using tofu…

Leave a Reply

