The Butterfly Emerges

April 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm (family, knitting)

Thank goodness it didn’t turn out to be  an ugly caterpillar!

I’m really happy with the changes I made to this sweater.  I used the yoke decreases from Meg Swansen’s EPS Revisited  in place of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting Workshop, which made the yoke fit much better.  The tricky part was getting the neck opening right.  I really thought after the third and final round, I would need to decrease a little more to make it fit.  Turns out I didn’t, DD#2 has a 21-inch head! That’s how big my head is.  And if the recipient’s response is any indication, I think this sweater was a success.  She’s worn it every day!

I used the instructions for the Hawser EPS from Knitting Workshop by Elizabeth Zimmerman for most of the sweater, adding the hawser pattern above the cuff of each sleeve, and also placing it around the chest in the body of the sweater before joining the sleeves.  The pouch pocket instructions are from the Wonderful Wallaby Sweater pattern.  Yarn was Wool of the Andes in Beryl Heather and Pink Cheeks,  with a few miscellaneous scraps of wool yarn I had leftover. 

3 Comments

  1. indianananaknits said,

    It is beautiful!!! No wonder she has worn it every day! The clapotis makes a lovely background. 🙂

  2. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    Pretty, pretty! 😉

  3. Joe said,

    I resent that – haven’t met an ugly Caterpillar yet!

Leave a Reply

