American Engrish

April 20, 2008 at 2:31 pm (Language)

After a brief absence, Bloosbabybro is back with another Sunday post.  This post, along with posts not present here, is also viewable on my blog here.
 
I love the website engrish.com. It’s dedicated to mistaken English (“Engrish“) found in east Asia on clothing, packaging, signs, etc. Having lived in Japan for two years, I have a great appreciation of Engrish. Here’s a recent nugget:

I’ll pass on the water passed by the manager….

I always figured Engrish to be an anomaly only present in east Asia, but I’ve come to learn that it also exists in, of all places, *gasp*, the United States. My wife found this example at a mall in Michigan. She took the picture with her cell phone, so the focus was a little off.

The next best thing to walking tall?

1 Comment

  1. indianananaknits said,

    Between you & your sis, I’ve been laughing so hard I have a headache!! (Did I mention I haven’t been getting much sleep?)
    I think the second pic has great potetial to spin off a skit, song, poetry, movie??—–you name it. MN Summer 2008!!! 🙂 I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

