Easter Egg Dye… Apply Directly to….Yarn?

March 26, 2008 at 2:40 am (Uncategorized)

Yup.  Over the weekend while the girls were dyeing eggs, I saved some of the dye for myself.  I had some leftover bits of white Wool-Ease from my brother’s scarf and I really didn’t want that much white yarn.  So I tried a little dyeing experiment. 

hand-dyedwoolease.jpg

I love how muted the colors are and since the acrylic in it didn’t take the dye, it’s a little bit heathered.

woolease.jpg

One important thing to note about dyeing Wool-Ease is that the dye didn’t exhaust.  Maybe I’m impatient but after 20 minutes in the microwave I decided to rinse it and see what happened.  Fortunately, the water ran clear.

Now I have something a lot more interesting to knit with than white!

1 Comment

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    Hmmm. Interesting that it didn’t exhaust. I wonder why?!

Leave a Reply

