Viladelvia

March 10, 2008 at 3:45 am (Language, Music)

Hello, it’s Bloosbabybro.

 I got to see one of my favorite guitarists live on Friday night: Antoine Dufour.  Bloosgrl did a post on him when his new album came out about a month ago.  My brother met me at the show and we had a good time.  My brother had never heard of Antoine, but I think he was a fan within the first few seconds of the first song.

Antoine opened with “Spiritual Groove” then rolled right into “Development” without stopping.  As you can see from the videos, those two songs are a great way to start a set.

 Probably one of the funniest moments of the night was when Antoine was giving an introduction for “Song for Stephen”, a song he wrote and dedicated to fellow guitarist Stephen Bennett.  For those who don’t know, Antoine is from Quebec, so his first language is French.  When introducing the song he pronounced the name “Stefen” and went on to explain that he understands it should be pronounced “Steven”, but that would never make sense to him.  “Can someone explain that to me?  The other night I was trying to get the people in Viladelvia to explain it to me, but no one could.”  Brilliant.

 Like I said last week – languages are interesting things.

1 Comment

  1. indianananaknits said,

    Sounds like an entertaining evening—-in more ways than one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

