Let’s Hear it for the Girls! (and the boy, too)

March 3, 2008 at 2:18 pm (family, Language)

First of all, let me start by saying how much I loved my brother’s post! I majored in French in college, so I LOVE languages.  When I took a linguistics course, I thought I’d died and gone to Heaven.  I also see all sorts of humor in language, too.  For example, I love French slang.  When literally translated into English, it’s very funny.  Take the expression that I learned in college for to feel blue, depressed or bummed out is “avoir le cafard” which means to have a cockroach.  I don’t think I’d be very happy if I had a cockroach, either.

Moving on, the school history fair was Wed. last week.  DD#1 and her partner did a great job with their exhibit on the attack on Pearl Harbor.  The theme was conflicts and compromise and they had to explain how the theme and the historical event they had chosen related to each other. 

hf1.jpg

hf2.jpg

hf4.jpg

hf7.jpg

hf5.jpg

hf3.jpg

hf6.jpg

For first-timers, they did such a great job!  Her class hears from the judges today about which projects were chosen to move on to the regional competition.  I certainly think they stand a good chance, but there were many well-done projects there to give them competition. 

2 Comments

  1. indianananaknits said,

    Congratulations Ariel!! You did a fabulous job!! 🙂

  2. Hooray for DD #1 « Bloosgrl’s Weblog said,

    […] to allow a third project to go on to the regional competition from her class and that project was hers.  […]

Leave a Reply

