Happy Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm (family, reading)

Wow!  It started snowing yesterday around 2 pm and I don’t know when it stopped.  We’ve had reports of hurricane-force gusts of winds and schools are on a 2-hour delay.  I guess my Valentine’s Day gift is that I don’t have to rush the DD’s to school this morning. 

 There was one elementary school that actually had 60 kids who had to spend the night and a school bus that was stranded for hours with kids on it.

I was glad that my DH got our new camping trailer home safely.  His brother actually drove it here in the middle of all this crazy weather while my DH followed him in his truck.  Anyway, it’s here and there were no accidents, at least for us!  My brother-in-law and sister-in-law were at the dealership helping my DH get all set with the trailer and bring it home.  I stayed home and shoveled several inches of snow off the driveway so they could get it in when they got here.  Kind of ironic, buying and bringing home a camping trailer in the midst of a blizzard!

Anyway, it’s a good day to stay inside and do lots of knitting and reading, or listening to audiobooks.  I just listened to one a couple of nights ago with the DH that we both really enjoyed.  My friend said it was good listening for Valentine’s Day and it really is!  It’s The Fulness of Life by Edith Wharton.  I know I’ve read stories by her before,  but somehow I missed out on her gift with words!  This is a beautiful piece of prose and a great little story and it’s only 20-30 minutes long. 

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day.  I’m going to curl up on the couch with a blanket, drink some herbal tea and do some knitting and reading!

Leave a Reply

