How to Care for Your Precious Handknits

February 11, 2008 at 2:16 pm (knitting, Uncategorized)

I recently heard a tip for how to wash your handknit items on the Knitpicks Podcast that I tried over the weekend. I washed DD#1’s Wallaby and my Clapotis in some wool wash like I normally do. Then I rolled each one into a towel. At this point each item is rolled up into a tube shape. I put them into the washing machine, towel and all and ran the spin cycle. This allowed me to get much more water out than squeezing or twisting, without being hard on my handknit items. They also dry a lot faster!

1 Comment

  1. indianananaknits said,

    What a great idea!!!

Leave a Reply

