All’s Well that Ends Well

February 2, 2008 at 2:49 pm (family, knitting, Music)

Yesterday really got off to a bad start. 

It took TWENTY minutes to get the DD’s of to school today, instead of the normal ten minutes. 

DD #1 is doing a history fair project this year.  She was determined to work with a partner, an idea I was not thrilled about. Now that they’ve already turned in their topic and who they’re working with to the teacher, they are having trouble agreeing upon what kind project to do- exhibit or documentary.  Let’s just mention here that I have no special knowledge or equipment to help DD#1 should they choose a documentary.

DD #1 was scheduled to start guitar lessons yesterday.  We showed up, but there was no instructor for her and the person I arranged them with tried to argue with me and claim that we had never set a date for her to start.  I might have let him off easy, except he had already ticked me of for a couple of reasons.  First, he would promise to call me back to make arrangements and then not call me back.  Then we had her lessons scheduled (after I kept calling him to follow up) and he called me THE DAY OF to let me know that he had someone who could teach her, but they couldn’t start for two more weeks.  Anyway, yesterday made three strikes, and he wasn’t offering to fix his mistake, so I threw him out.  However, the manager of the music store noticed that we had left way too soon for having a music lesson and followed me out because she wanted to know what had happened.  Turns out she was very unhappy with the way I had been treated and offered to arrange lessons for me.  I was very impressed with her. 

After that, I was able to resolve the history fair issues.  Turns out the parent’s of DD#1’s partner didn’t want to do a documentary any more than we did.

And I can now officially knit lace!  I discovered a Beginner Lace group on Ravelry and joined their February Knit Along.  The project is the Easy Lace Scarf. I have tried a couple of other lace patterns that I just could not seem to knit no matter how hard I tried. This pattern I can knit. Woohoo!

2 Comments

  1. indianananaknits said,

    So glad to hear “The Issue” was resolved so easily!!! Hope the Girls are OK with the verdict. 🙂
    Love the lace scarf—I printed out the pattern. I might be able to do this one too. Looks like a good beginner project indeed! 🙂
    Love you, Sweetie Pie

  2. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    It sounds like your life has been as crazy as mine. Glad you’re not having to help with a Doc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

