Ribbit, Ribbit

January 7, 2008 at 4:47 pm (knitting)

Well, I did it.  I frogged one project that wasn’t going well and ripped back a second project about ten rows to fix a mistake that was really bugging me.

The Koolhaas Hat has not been going well.  I think I’ve knitted and ripped back at least ten times.  I even tried a different yarn to make it a little more crisp.  I got better stitch definition, but I also ended up with holes I could put my finger through where the stitches twist and cross! I don’t think this pattern likes DK weight.  So over the weekend I frogged it.  I wanted to cry.  Such beautiful yarn!  But I know these two skeins of Simply Shetland Lambswool and Cashmere in Velvet will become something else lovely!  They just don’t want to be a Koolhaas Hat.  I was however, rewarded for biting the bullet and frogging my hat.  As I was sitting there, knitting Mr. Greenjeans, I was marvelling over how much I love the yarn I chose for it- Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Garnet.  I was sitting there thinking about how it’s so pretty and looks so great in this sweater.  It’s got a little bit of sheen to it.  The stitches are really well-defined….Wait!  Go back!  Well-defined?  Hmmmm…. this might be what I’ve been looking for!  How many skeins do I have left?  Four?  Could I spare one for the hat.  Well, let’s see..half of the first sleeve knitted…  One whole sleeve to go….  Pick ups and ribbed trim to knit … If this takes more than 2 two or three skeins, I will be surprised. YES!!!!! (insert Hallelujah Chorus) We’ll see how it turns out.

I have needed to rip back the Breeze Socks for several weeks.  I crossed a couple of cables the wrong direction and I haven’t wanted to knit them and I haven’t wanted to rip them back either.  It was liberating to finally rip it back.   I really couldn’t progress with them without taking a few steps back.

Here are  a couple of  pictures of the Koolhaas Hat before I frogged it.

koolhaas1.jpg

koolhaas2.jpg

Leave a Reply

