Garterlac Dishcloth Finished and Wallaby Update

November 16, 2007 at 12:39 pm (knitting)

garterlac.jpggarterlac2.jpg

I have finished the Garterlac Dishcloth.  It was a fun and interesting knit!  My best advice is to trust the pattern.  There were a couple of places where it looked like I might be knitting the wrong direction and I really wasn’t.  The SKPs and K2togs do not leave for a very smooth finished product.  I had several gaps and big knots in it. I’m not sure if wool instead of cotton would help.  I do think smaller needles would have been an improvement. I used a size 10.

On the Wonderful Wallaby, I finally sucked it up and undid it down to where the sleeves join the body and began the yoke again.  After consulting Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmerman, and The Knitter’s Book of Handy Sweater Patterns by Ann Budd, I decided to leave the same number of corresponding stitches from the body on stitch holders as I did for the sleeves.  The Wonderful Wallaby pattern only has you leave 8 stitches from each sleeve on stitch holders and I was NOT looking forward to doing that again.  It just makes it too tight to knit around and killed my hands and my wrists.  Now I can say that part is not necessary.  Leave the same number of corresponding stitches on stitch holders for the body as the sleeves for each sleeve and it is so much less tighter.  You can always go back and close up by grafting or three needle bind-off, so the extra stitches are no big deal in my opinion. 

2 Comments

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    I smell a bonfire…. 🙂

  2. indianananaknits said,

    Garterlac is pretty in the yellow & white. 🙂

Leave a Reply

