People Who Can’t Do Math Shouldn’t Write Knitting Patterns and Other Random Thoughts

November 7, 2007 at 3:44 pm (knitting)

Okay, so I know a lot of people out there love the Wonderful Wallaby Sweater pattern.  I’m not one of them.  This pattern has given me a lot of trouble.  First,  the sleeves were way too big.  I checked my gauge and did som calculations and it appeared to be the pattern.  Now I’ve completed the decreases for the yoke as directed by the pattern and I still have 20 more stitches than I should have.  Now, maybe it really is me, but now I have a sweater I don’t know how to finish!  Is there someone out there who can help me?

To balance my knitting frustration I do have a success to share with you.  I have tried three times to knit my Berrocco Chinchilla yarn into a chemo hat for my cousin’s wife.  Everytime it would not hold it’s shape enough to fit.  The last time I frogged it, my husband commented that it would make a great frisbee.  I made him pay for that! 🙂  Well, I decided it didn’t want to be a hat and put it in time out for awhile.  I recently casted on for a new project with this yarn and LOVE the results!

scarflet1.jpg

It drapes nicely, it’s soft and feels so good around my neck.

Pattern: Scarflet from Chemo Cap and Scarflet by Berrocco

Yarn:  Chinchilla by Berrocco

I would recommend one modification.  This pattern calls for stockinette stitch and it does curl just a touch around the edges.  I would knit it in garter stitch instead to keep it from curling.

1 Comment

  1. Stitch-n-Snitch said,

    Grrrr. You know my thoughts about that pattern!! Nice scarf. 🙂

Leave a Reply

